Dr. Barry L. Purvis Assumes Presidency of State Principals’ Association

November 7, 2011

TO:         News Editor/News Director

CONTACT:     Sheri L. Thompson, Director of Communications, Pennsylvania Association of Elementary and Secondary School Principals
122 Valley Road, P.O. Box 39, Summerdale, PA 17093
(717) 732-4999 (Office)
(717) 395-6814 (Cell)
(717) 732-4890 (Fax)


Dr. Barry L. Purvis Assumes Presidency of State Principals’ Association

(Harrisburg, Pa.) — Dr. Barry L. Purvis, principal of Chambersburg Area Senior High School, Chambersburg Area School District, recently assumed the Presidency of the Pennsylvania Association of Elementary and Secondary School Principals (PA Principals Association), headquartered in Summerdale, Pa.


PA Principals Association’s membership of approximately 4,000 is comprised of elementary, middle level and secondary school principals, assistant principals and other educational leaders and is affiliated with the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) and the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP).

Dr. Purvis assumed the association reins following the association’s annual business meeting held Oct. 25, 2011 during the annual PA Principals Association state conference.

“I am proud and honored to represent PA Principals Association as its new President. I have benefited from PA Principals Association through expert advice, superb professional development and networking with some of Pennsylvania’ss finest principals. I look forward to serving principals from this great state and welcome their input on how we can continue to keep Pennsylvania at the forefront of student learning, while also supporting school leaders and the numerous challenges they encounter each and every day.”

Dr. Purvis began his education career as a physical education teacher in the Chambersburg Area School District. He then became the assistant principal of the Chambersburg Area Middle School and the Chambersburg Area Senior High School. In 1996, he became the principal of the Chambersburg Area Middle School and is now in his ninth year as principal of the Chambersburg Area High School. In addition, he has been an adjunct professor at Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania since 2002.

Dr. Purvis has been a member of PA Principals Association for 22 years. He most recently served the association as President-Elect. He also served as the chairman of PA Principals Association’s Secondary Awards Committee (2004-2010) and as the Central II Secondary Regional Representative on the PA Principals Association Board of Directors (2004-2010). In 2006, he was selected as Pennsylvania’s High School Principal of the Year in the MetLife/ NASSP Principal of the Year Program.

Known in his district as “Dr. P.,” he has worked tirelessly to improve the school environment and to share his clear vision and expectations for his school. He is a strong leader who seeks the development of well-rounded individuals and acknowledges the accomplishments of the students and the staff.

While Dr. Purvis was principal at the Chambersburg Area Middle School, they received the “National Blue Ribbon Award” in 2002, and the school was a finalist for the Pennsylvania Middle School of the Year in 2003. He also coached girls’ varsity basketball at Chambersburg from 1979-1996 and was selected Coach of the Year twice.

Dr. Purvis received a bachelor of science degree in health and physical education from East Stroudsburg University. He then received a master’s in educational administration and has a superintendent’s letter of eligibility from Shippensburg University, as well as a doctorate in educational administration from Widener University.

He resides in Chambersburg with his wife Joyce, daughter Kia and granddaughter Kiana.


PA Principals Association’s Mission: To ensure a quality education for every child by comprehensively supporting the educational leaders of our schools.

PA Principals Association’s Vision: To be the best service organization of its kind in the United States.


Dr. Joshua A. Doll Named President-Elect
of State Principals’ Association