

Media Advisory Kaylen Tucker, NAESP 703-518-6257 ktucker@naesp.org

NAESP Welcomes New President-elect, Vice President, Board Members

President-elect Steven D. Geis will join Brian K. Partin, Adam Drummond, Dave Steckler, Dwight C. Cooper, and Kimbrelle Lewis as new members of NAESP's Board of Directors.

Alexandria, Virginia—March 24, 2015—The National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) welcomes <u>Steven D. Geis</u>, principal of North Trail Elementary School in Farmington, Minnesota, as the recently elected President-elect of NAESP's Board of Directors.

Geis, a member of NAESP since 2005, has served on its Board of Directors since 2012. Geis has also held memberships with the Minnesota Elementary School Principals Association and the Farmington Principals Association.

"We know there are educational challenges and unresolved problems we may never be able to fully overcome." Geis said. "We need to work with our state associations and partner with NAESP to proactively share the successes and accentuate the positive. We need to be above the banter and role model professionalism, as we all do, for others to emulate."

<u>Brian K. Partin</u>, principal of Thomas Jefferson Elementary School in Kingsport, Tennessee, will join Geis on the Board of Directors as the newly elected NAESP Vice President.

In NAESP Zone elections, the following individuals were elected to the Board of Directors:

- Adam Drummond, principal of Lincoln Elementary School in Huntington, Indiana, will represent Zone 5 principals in Illinois, Indiana, and Kentucky.
- Dave Steckler, principal of Red Trail Elementary School in Mandan, North Dakota, will represent Zone 7 principals in Alaska, Colorado, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wyoming.
- Dwight C. Cooper, principal of Reardan Elementary School in Reardan, Washington, will represent Zone 9 principals in Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Guam, and American Samoa.

The Board of Directors also appointed Kimbrelle Lewis, principal of Cordova Elementary School in Cordova, Tennessee, as the new Director At Large, Minority-Level.

"On behalf of NAESP, I congratulate and welcome the newly-elected members of the Board of Directors," said NAESP Executive Director Gail Connelly. "These principals—who have distinguished themselves as educational and community leaders—are coming on board as the Association implements a new Strategic Growth Plan that will help principals get the best results for students."

New Board Members will begin three-year terms on July 1. The current President-elect, <u>Robyn Conrad Hansen</u>, who is principal of Playa Del Rey Elementary School in Gilbert, Arizona, will begin her tenure as NAESP President on July 1, and Geis will assume the office of President one year later.

Established in 1921, the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) is the leading national association representing elementary and middle school principals in the United States, Canada, and overseas. NAESP supports principals as the primary catalysts for creating lasting foundations for learning in their commitment to all children through policy development, advocacy, and resources for effective instructional leadership. The Association seeks to advance the principals' profession at the national level and address issues in pre-K-3 alignment, principal preparation and evaluation, and building the capacity of new principals. NAESP honors principals through its National Distinguished Principals program and administers a variety of professional services, including the National Mentor Certification program for principals. www.naesp.org